Stars, Particles, and Waves

A favorite quote of mine is, “Oh, thou art fairer than the evening air clad in the beauty of a thousand stars.” It’s from Christopher Marlowe’s play Faust and I think Paris says it to Helen. So beautiful! This is my first take on it.

It’s acrylic on wood panel and there’s not a straight brush stroke on it. I wanted to see if I could create a serene landscape using circular motion strokes. I’m also interested in exploring how light is made up of particles and waves. I didn’t want to go on a full-on Seurat pointillism attempt, but wanted to provide texture and interest, maybe depth with the all-over “stars” (everything is made of stardust, right?).

It’s acrylic on wood panel. I like it at first glance, and have found that it gets better the more you look at it, imho.

Leave a Reply

